jump to navigation

Elena Udrea in her own words 10/10/2010

Posted by allthingsro in politics.
Tags:
trackback

Because if I’m going to slate her, it’s only fair to give her a chance to put forward her side of the story.

I am 36 years’ old and was born in Buzău, a provincial city in southeast Romania (and not in the village of Pleşcoi, as some persist in saying). I am a Capricorn and, like all those born under that sign, I am disciplined, ambitious and tenacious to the point of stubbornness. I am very loyal, and anyone who wins my trust has a friend for life.
I am a normal woman with an ordinary life. Anyone who thinks that I eat caviar daily and that I spend my time between the hairdresser’s and the boutiques is mistaken. I have friends who mean the world to me. I have a mother who gets worked up everyday about the untruths that are written about me. I try to comfort her as much as I can. Sometimes I get emotional; sometimes I’m stressed. I have days when I feel terrific and day when I don’t feel up to much, like anybody.

My childhood
I grew up in the communist period, so I know only too well what is to go without things. Chocolate was a luxury. I didn’t see a Pepsi or a Coca-Cola until I was 16 when the revolution took place. I took my turn queuing for eggs and potatoes. But I was fortunate enough to live in a united family who tried, even in those difficult times and with their modest means, to give me the things I needed, whether those were clothes and shoes or dolls, just like any little girl wants.
From a young age I was a very ambitious girl. I was first in my class from Year 1 right through to Year 8. I went to Bogdan Petriceicu Hasdeu National College, the elite high school in Buzău.
I remember my adolescence as an extremely difficult period due to the clash between the conservative values with which my generation had grown up in the communist period and the new wind of freedom – sometimes extreme freedom – which had started to breeze.

Lawyer and politician
I studied law at Dimitrie Cantemir University and I became a lawyer. At the moment, I have my own legal practice.
I first got involved in politics as a councillor on the Bucharest General Municipal Council in June 2004 and then as Head of the Presidential Administrative Chancellery. I liked President Băsescu’s open style, his tenacity and his ability to mobilise people. He is the person from whom I have learnt the most about politics.
At the moment, I am Executive Secretary of the Romanian Democratic Liberal Party, a party whose values I believe in, and I am running as a candidate for Deputy in Sector 6 of Bucharest.
I believe that the unpleasant moments in my career as a public figure have made me stronger, and I have learnt from them. I don’t regret any of my public outbursts in which I have attacked corruption and attempts to buy political influence, and I will continue to talk about these issues because they must not become part of the normal course of things.

Comments»

1. andrei savu - 21/10/2010

so, are you packing stuff for romania??? :)))


Leave a Reply

