jump to navigation

In the shadow of the Great USSR 24/03/2012

Posted by allthingsro in music, translations, Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Under Ceausescu, Phoenix fled Romania and sought refuge in Germany. In 2000, they released “In the Shadow of the Great USSR” (In umbra marelui U.R.S.S.), which became “In the Shadow of the Great Bear” (In umbra marelui urs) due to a printing error.

I stand alone and ask myself
Why I left home
Could it be the curse
That has been oppressing us for ages?

For I made no mistake
But how much I have suffered
Cursed I have been without cause
By those whom I loved

Sunset after sunset
How quickly time passes
And the dawn has vanished
How cold the wind blows

I waited trembling
To return
You judged me, condemned me
But who are you?

For our time slipped away
In the shadow of the great bear
But you still have the claws
In any embrace
Today a kiss on the cheek hurts

But give me back my life
That I have wasted for you
Forgetting everything and two years in exile
Out of a thousand, little remains

The leaves have fallen
The storm has scattered them
Where are our hopes?
Not a single one remains

A sudden thought, unspoken
And I turn to stone on the spot
How long have I waited, what have I dream of
Nothing has changed

Give me back my life
That I have wasted for you
Forgetting everything and you
Drinking buddies
Of a thousand, how many remain?

And your time has slipped away
In the shadow of the great bear
But you still have the claws
In any embrace
Today a kiss on the cheek hurts

Link to music video and alternative translation

Alternative translation

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

