jump to navigation

Romania’s literary Lady Gaga 06/06/2012

Posted by allthingsro in books.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I love this book: Sânge satantic (Satanic Blood) by Cristina Nemerovschi.
What better introduction than her narrator:
I listen to black metal; I’m an atheist; everybody thinks I’m a Satanist; I’m bisexual, a misanthropist, sometimes just a misogynist; I’m writing a book; I drink every day, and do drugs every week. How does that sound as the start of a CV?
This narrator would no doubt pale at this comparison, but I couldn’t stop seeing him as a literary, male Lady Gaga – too populist, too pop. But he is an über-rebel: not afraid to shock – au contraire, no boundaries – sexual or substance-related, no rules.
And for all his misogyny, the novel is, in my view, a love story.

Comments»

1. Perverted first impressions | All Things Romanian - 21/05/2013

[…] of Pervertirea (Perversions or Pervertedness) by Cristina Nemerovschi are mixed. I was a huge fan of her first book, Sânge satanic (Satanic Blood) – even though I freely admit that I didn’t understand […]

2. Rezervatia unicornilor – First impressions | All Things Romanian - 23/08/2015

[…] didn’t make much of an impression on me in Sange sâtanic. It’s in the second part of the trilogy that he comes into his own as the most heterosexual […]


Leave a Reply

