jump to navigation

Somewhere in the Balkans 09/06/2013

Posted by allthingsro in music, translations.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

You’re more likely to find biting social commentary in Romanian hip-hop than in the newspapers, so it’s said. The rapper Puya is one example of this phenomenon. Here’s my attempt to translate his hit “Somewhere in the Balkans“. I’m much indebted to the Romanians on YouTube and elsewhere who have provided their own translations.

We drink beer and wine
Not whiskey or gin
We love bribery, corruption with all our hearts
We don’t know much, no kidding!
It’s a tradition here since we were kids
We love having dollars, we hate having jobs
What do I care about global warming
We want dollars, dollars, let the whales starve to death
Many problems, mess-ups on our minds, babes
Do you think we like
Knocking up against them all the time?
Let Bin Laden come
And kidnap me, it’s cool, it’s lame
Nobody here would give a f*cking damn
We want big dollars, we don’t rob banks, that’s just in the movies
We scam, it’s good, and it still works
Romanian style without masks and guns
Because we’re not in American movies
Stress makes victims
Don’t you watch the news?
At 5 you can watch
All the crimes live

Is this, is this the life
I wanna live, I wanna carry on
Is this, is this the life
I wanna live, I wanna carry on
Is this, is this the life
Do you wanna carry on
Is this, is this the life
I wanna, wanna get down
We love negative characters, offenders
We protect them, we honour them more than dictators
Bad guys are cool when they have money
But they’re offenders when they’re broke
Americans drive fast
Running over our singers
Latin spirit, we love with great passion
“Cheaters” is filmed here, enough said
Since hard drugs arrived in the clubs it’s cool
The girls strip off faster and faster
Sex is everywhere, in the blocks’ stairwells
In classrooms or Private Spice non-stop
It’s so cool, minors are hot
For their 18th, they want gang-bangs, not cake
Europe thought we were coming to visit
Surprise! We’re here to invade

Is this, is this the life
I wanna live, I wanna carry on
Is this, is this the life
I wanna live, I wanna carry on
Is this, is this the life
Do you wanna carry on
Is this, is this the life
I wanna, wanna get down

We don’t care about the Gaza Strip or Iraq
Bring the fiddlers because I’ve got a heap of money to throw about
Because people wanna hear their name on the microphone
And the money flows as if it were thrown from a balcony
Every chav has at least one mobile telephone
At least one piece of branded clothing, just to be the man
Some drive cars that are more expensive than their houses
In the club they spend money they don’t have
We like sport, we play football, that’s right
After the match we finish up with some boxing, that’s how it is
We’re a big family, we’re all like brothers
But whenever there are problems, we know well that we run away from each other
We have many churches because we’re frequent sinners
And they’re full of gold-digging wives
South-East, Romania, somewhere in the Balkans
When you land at the airport, hold on tight to your money

Is this, is this the life
I wanna live, I wanna carry on
Is this, is this the life
I wanna live, I wanna carry on
Is this, is this the life
Do you wanna carry on
Is this, is this the life
I wanna, wanna get down

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

