jump to navigation

INNA ain’t it – DJ Project is 17/04/2014

Posted by allthingsro in music, translations.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

True to my vocation of liking all things Romanian, I’ve tried, I’ve really tried to like INNA. The cute Romanian singer looks amazing, her outfits are fantastic, but her songs feel too robotic. However, she doesn’t sing (much) in Romanian, and she’s actually a bigger star both on social media and in real life outside Romania.
I much prefer the Romanian dance group DJ Project. Their songs are simple, but catchy. The build-up to “Soapte” (Whispers) is ace, and the female vocalist (Ellie White? I’m not sure) looks unstarry in an uncharacteristically un-Romanian way in a simple T-shirt with her hair pulled back in an Alice band. But it’s the collaborations with Giulia Anghelescu that I really love. Giulia used to sing with the sassy girl group Candy, but she’s now gone solo. Below is my translation of DJ Project feat. Giulia’s hit “Mi-e dor de noi”. They have also released an English-language version, “Crazy in Love”.

DJ Project feat. Giulia – Mi-e dor de noi / I long for us

Only dried petals fallen on a book
Tell me that you… are far away
And you don’t know how it burns
And you don’t know how it hurts
You’re not here… Wherever can you be?

I can’t remember how long I’ve been standing here
How long I’ve been waiting for you to lift me up
What’s the point of time if we’re not together?
Love takes two!

Chorus:
Only dried petals fallen on a book
Tell me that you… are far away
And you don’t know how it burns
And you don’t know how it hurts
You’re not here… Wherever can you be?
I long (x4)
I long (x4)
I long (x4)
I long for us so much sometimes
I long (x4)
I’m the only one to blame for losing you

With my arms open and my eyes closed
I came to you, knowing that you’d catch me
You said that I’m the air you breathe
I can’t carry on living on memories

Chorus

I long for us so much sometimes
I long for us so much sometimes

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

